Stories of the Brooker Highway

The Story Island Project

Exhibition opening 1pm Thurs 24 Aug
Exhibition runs Fri 25 Aug – Sat 16 Sep

"Stories of the Brooker Highway" celebrates the rich histories and stories that surround the Brooker Highway.

Unearthed with the help of the Story Island Project during early 2017, these stories and

images capture some of the overlooked, the surprising and the unusual features of a stretch of road that is so familiar to us all.

The stories and images featured in the exhibition have been collected from and created by communities across Hobart’s northern suburbs.

Stories of the Brooker Highway also includes creative stories and illustrations from young people who attend schools on the Brooker Highway, reimagining the life of the highway in new and exciting ways.

The exhibition will be launched by artist Eileen Brooker. Eileen is the daughter of Edward Brooker, the Tasmanian Government minister who first conceived of the Highway, and after whom the Highway is named. Tasmanian author Danielle Wood will also speak at the launch about her memories of the Highway. We'll also have several readings from school students whose creative writing is featured in the exhibition.

Free entry, all welcome.

▼ Show More Information

23-27 Albert Road, Moonah, 7009
Moonah
24 August , Thursday 13:00

More Events Nearby

 31 August , Thursday
 Odeon Theatre, Hobart, Hobart
 02 September , Saturday
 Tasmanian University Medical Students' Society (TUMSS), Hobart
 26 August , Saturday
 Tasmania University Law Society - TULS, Hobart
 16 September , Saturday
 The Waratah Hotel, Hobart
 19 August , Saturday
 Mt Pleasant Radio Telescope Observatory and Grote Reber Museum, Cambridge
 27 August , Sunday
 Red Square Cafe, Cambridge
 25 August , Friday
 Risdon Vale Primary & Infant School, Hobart
 18 August , Friday
 Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, Hobart
 26 August , Saturday
 Hobart Motorcycles, Hobart
 16 September , Saturday
 Wrest Point Hobart, Hobart
 20 August , Sunday
 Republic Bar & Cafe, North Hobart
 26 August , Saturday
 Brisbane Hotel, Hobart
 02 September , Saturday
 Brisbane Hotel, Hobart
 20 August , Sunday
 Queenborough Oval, Hobart
 16 September , Saturday
 Parliament Lawns Hobart, Hobart
 13 September , Wednesday
 Odeon Theatre, Hobart, Hobart
 20 August , Sunday
 Schmørgåsbaag, Hobart
 25 August , Friday
 The Grand Poobah, Hobart
 19 August , Saturday
 Huntingfield Pony & Riding Club, Hobart
 10 September , Sunday
 Hobart City Hall, Hobart
 20 August , Sunday
 Source Community Wholefoods, Sandy Bay
 24 August , Thursday
 Federation Concert Hall - Tso, Hobart
 10 September , Sunday
 St. George's Anglican Church, Battery Point, Hobart
 12 September , Tuesday
 Federation Concert Hall - Tso, Hobart
 27 August , Sunday
 Fern Tree Tavern, Fern Tree
 29 August , Tuesday
 Stanley Burbury Theatre, Hobart
 16 September , Saturday
 Willie Smith's Organic Cider, Grove
 09 September , Saturday
 Odeon Theatre, Hobart, Hobart
 22 August , Tuesday
 Theatre Royal (Hobart), Hobart
 18 August , Friday
 Hobart, TAS, Australia, Hobart
 24 August , Thursday
 Theatre Royal (Hobart), Hobart
 20 August , Sunday
 The Henry Jones Art Hotel, Hobart
 10 September , Sunday
 Fern Tree Community Centre, Ferntree
 02 September , Saturday
 Hobart Brewing Company, Hobart
 19 August , Saturday
 The Grand Poobah, Hobart
 09 September , Saturday
 Moonah Arts Centre, Moonah