Stories of the Brooker Highway

The Story Island Project

Exhibition opening 1pm Thurs 24 Aug
Exhibition runs Fri 25 Aug – Sat 16 Sep

"Stories of the Brooker Highway" celebrates the rich histories and stories that surround the Brooker Highway.

Unearthed with the help of the Story Island Project during early 2017, these stories and

images capture some of the overlooked, the surprising and the unusual features of a stretch of road that is so familiar to us all.

The stories and images featured in the exhibition have been collected from and created by communities across Hobart’s northern suburbs.

Stories of the Brooker Highway also includes creative stories and illustrations from young people who attend schools on the Brooker Highway, reimagining the life of the highway in new and exciting ways.

The exhibition will be launched by artist Eileen Brooker. Eileen is the daughter of Edward Brooker, the Tasmanian Government minister who first conceived of the Highway, and after whom the Highway is named. Tasmanian author Danielle Wood will also speak at the launch about her memories of the Highway. We'll also have several readings from school students whose creative writing is featured in the exhibition.

Free entry, all welcome.

▼ Show More Information

23-27 Albert Road, Moonah, 7009
Moonah
24 August , Thursday 13:00

More Events Nearby

 12 January , Friday
 MONA FOMA, Hobart
 24 December , Sunday
 Claremont, TAS, Australia, Claremont
 21 December , Thursday
 Blundstone Arena, Bellerive
 22 December , Friday
 Brooke Street Pier, Hobart
 22 December , Friday
 The Observatory Bar, Hobart
 23 December , Saturday
 The Italian Club, Hobart
 17 December , Sunday
 Blundstone Arena, Bellerive
 20 December , Wednesday
 Guilford Young College, Glenorchy
 06 January , Saturday
 The Waratah Hotel, Hobart
 26 December , Tuesday
 Taroona Bowls Club, Taroona
 22 December , Friday
 Brisbane Hotel, Hobart
 06 January , Saturday
 Brisbane Hotel, Hobart
 10 January , Wednesday
 Go Racing Tasmania, Hobart
 31 December , Sunday
 Wrest Point Hobart, Hobart
 31 December , Sunday
 The Taste of Tasmania, Hobart
 03 January , Wednesday
 Hobart, TAS, Australia, Hobart
 04 January , Thursday
 Republic Bar & Cafe, North Hobart
 14 January , Sunday
 Cadbury's Chocolate Factory, Tasmania, Claremont
 02 January , Tuesday
 Hobart Brewing Co., Hobart
 14 January , Sunday
 Cadbury's Chocolate Factory, Tasmania, Claremont
 27 December , Wednesday
 Brisbane Hotel, Hobart
 19 December , Tuesday
 North Hobart, TAS, Australia, North Hobart
 31 December , Sunday
 New Norfolk Golf Club, New Norfolk
 23 December , Saturday
 Beaches Restaurant & Events, Hobart
 01 January , Monday
 Jane Franklin Hall, South Hobart
 13 January , Saturday
 EC Skatepark, North Hobart
 17 December , Sunday
 North Hobart Skatepark, Hobart
 22 December , Friday
 The Winston, Hobart
 22 December , Friday
 lululemon Hobart, Hobart
 21 December , Thursday
 Republic Bar & Cafe, North Hobart
 26 December , Tuesday
 The Waratah Hotel, Hobart
 06 January , Saturday
 mina-nina, Margate
 22 December , Friday
 Cargo Bar Salamanca, Hobart
 25 December , Monday
 Diamond Class Pole and Fitness Studio, Hobart
 07 January , Sunday
 Hobart International - Australian Open Series, Hobart