Brandi Carlile

DSP Shows:

Brandi Carlile
Tuesday, May 8th
8:00pm
The State Theatre
Ithaca NY

By The Way, I Forgive You is not an album about
forgiveness in the easy sense—where someone
has hurt you and then suddenly there’s a great
reconciliation and a remorse-filled scene with
two people running across the golden

wheat
field towards an embrace that somehow undoes a
lifetime of pain and damage, as if the past has no
meaning. It’s about radical acceptance (not to be
confused with complacency) and unconditional
love.
Whoever is reading this, your parents will die.
You may have been hurt or loved by them,
probably both. But can you forgive them for
leaving in the end?
We are a powerful generation witnessing war
and division like never before, yet somehow this
is the safest time to be alive in human history.
Can we love one another as ourselves? More
importantly, can we love ourselves at all?
The songs alone aren’t universal messages, they
are personal stories of our parents and childhood,
our divorces, oppressive religion, the fact that
marriage is hard and having children is
terrifying, even the sting of death. It is the story
of forgiveness, that despite all this keeps us
innocently climbing out of bed every morning
open to love—big terrible trembling love.
I don’t love you because you’ve done what I
think you should do with your life. I love you
whatever you do, but I’ve got a life to live too.
And, by the way, I forgive you.

▼ Show More Information

107 W State St, 14850
Ithaca
08 May , Tuesday 20:00

More Events Nearby

 10 May , Thursday
 Cornell University, Ithaca
 27 April , Friday
 Bailey Hall, Ithaca
 27 April , Friday
 Milstein Hall, Cornell., Ithaca
 20 May , Sunday
 Ithaca High School, Ithaca
 10 May , Thursday
 McLean Fire and Rescue - NY, McLean
 01 May , Tuesday
 The Haunt, Ithaca
 27 April , Friday
 The Haunt, Ithaca
 24 April , Tuesday
 Establishment, Ithaca
 25 April , Wednesday
 Ithaca College School of Music, Ithaca
 06 May , Sunday
 State Theatre of Ithaca, Ithaca
 28 April , Saturday
 Island Health & Fitness, Ithaca
 27 April , Friday
 Cornell University, Ithaca
 05 May , Saturday
 Comics for Collectors, Ithaca
 26 April , Thursday
 The Haunt, Ithaca
 11 May , Friday
 The Dock, Ithaca
 04 May , Friday
 State Theatre of Ithaca, Ithaca
 11 May , Friday
 Ithaca Beer Co., Ithaca
 02 May , Wednesday
 Ithaca College School of Music, Ithaca
 18 May , Friday
 Ithaca, NY, United States, Ithaca
 11 May , Friday
 Ithaca, NY, United States, Ithaca
 27 April , Friday
 The Dock, Ithaca
 13 May , Sunday
 State Theatre of Ithaca, Ithaca
 20 May , Sunday
 State Theatre of Ithaca, Ithaca
 29 April , Sunday
 Cornell Cooperative Extension of Tompkins County, Ithaca
 19 May , Saturday
 Dryden Lake, Dryden
 15 May , Tuesday
 Ulysses Historical Society, Trumansburg
 19 May , Saturday
 Tompkins County Public Library, Ithaca
 19 May , Saturday
 Hangar Theatre, Ithaca
 04 May , Friday
 The Dock, Ithaca
 29 April , Sunday
 State Theatre of Ithaca, Ithaca
 19 May , Saturday
 Hangar Theatre, Ithaca
 13 May , Sunday
 Ithaca High School, Ithaca
 19 May , Saturday
 Tompkins County Public Library, Ithaca
 01 May , Tuesday
 Ten Forward Cafe, Ithaca
 12 May , Saturday
 Wildmoon Homesteading, Willseyville
 28 April , Saturday
 Country Club of Ithaca, Ithaca