Brandi Carlile

DSP Shows:

Brandi Carlile
Tuesday, May 8th
8:00pm
The State Theatre
Ithaca NY

By The Way, I Forgive You is not an album about
forgiveness in the easy sense—where someone
has hurt you and then suddenly there’s a great
reconciliation and a remorse-filled scene with
two people running across the golden

wheat
field towards an embrace that somehow undoes a
lifetime of pain and damage, as if the past has no
meaning. It’s about radical acceptance (not to be
confused with complacency) and unconditional
love.
Whoever is reading this, your parents will die.
You may have been hurt or loved by them,
probably both. But can you forgive them for
leaving in the end?
We are a powerful generation witnessing war
and division like never before, yet somehow this
is the safest time to be alive in human history.
Can we love one another as ourselves? More
importantly, can we love ourselves at all?
The songs alone aren’t universal messages, they
are personal stories of our parents and childhood,
our divorces, oppressive religion, the fact that
marriage is hard and having children is
terrifying, even the sting of death. It is the story
of forgiveness, that despite all this keeps us
innocently climbing out of bed every morning
open to love—big terrible trembling love.
I don’t love you because you’ve done what I
think you should do with your life. I love you
whatever you do, but I’ve got a life to live too.
And, by the way, I forgive you.

▼ Show More Information

107 W State St, 14850
Ithaca
08 May , Tuesday 20:00

More Events Nearby

 15 August , Wednesday
 Ithaca, NY, United States, Ithaca
 12 August , Sunday
 The Haunt, Ithaca
 10 August , Friday
 Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Ithaca
 28 July , Saturday
 Finger Lakes Harley-Davidson, Cayuta
 02 August , Thursday
 Paws for Thought Farm - Canine Event Center, Groton
 28 July , Saturday
 Finger Lakes Harley-Davidson, Cayuta
 05 August , Sunday
 Taughannock Falls State Park, Trumansburg
 28 July , Saturday
 Finger Lakes Harley-Davidson, Cayuta
 27 July , Friday
 Dryden Central School District, Dryden
 30 July , Monday
 Brooktondale Nazarene Camp and Retreat Center, Brooktondale
 28 July , Saturday
 Stewart Park, Ithaca New York, Ithaca
 23 July , Monday
 The Canaan Institute, Brooktondale
 25 July , Wednesday
 Trumansburg Farmers Market, Trumansburg
 04 August , Saturday
 Buttermilk Falls State Park, Ithaca
 19 August , Sunday
 Six Mile Creek Vineyard, Ithaca
 10 August , Friday
 The Rink Ithaca, Ithaca
 29 July , Sunday
 Cornell University, Ithaca
 30 July , Monday
 Brooktondale Nazarene Camp and Retreat Center, Brooktondale
 06 August , Monday
 Wine & Design, Ithaca